Epica – Symphonic Christmas

More proof, compadres, that Google is your buddy.

Image

Epica are only playing Corporation in Sheffield just before Christmassymphonic metal festive season frenzy ahoy!

They released their latest record, “Requiem For The Indifferent”, earlier this spring and I fully intend to get around to listening to it in due course – with the prospect of seeing their live show now acting as a strong motivator for me to dig back into the Epica catalogue and test the structural integrity of my already bowing CD shelves by acquiring their stuff (downloading from iTunes isn’t quite the same, to be honest – there’s not the same romance to browsing a PDF of the liner notes that you get from even a cursory glance at the CD booklet).

Think big riffs, soaring female vocals, gruff male singing and a sound composed of equal parts prog noodling, very melodic metal and even some approachable classical influence chucked in for the music students.  Yes, they’re very much a part of the ‘corset metal’ movement recently decried by the Metal Hammer podcast (somebody play them some Machine Head to distract them – stat!), but that’s my favourite style of rock, so I don’t see a problem with the designation.

Wednesday December 12th can’t get here quickly enough…

 

4 Comments

Filed under Music

4 responses to “Epica – Symphonic Christmas

  1. I went for the VIP ones … very excited! An awesome year for female metal gigs! :D

    • I saw the VIP tickets and thought against it – I have a tendency to babble when in the presence of people whose work I admire.

      If I do meet a band again, I might have to just nod a lot and keep my responses to “Cool!” or that kind of thing, lest my unceasing torrent of gibberish be unleashed anew…

  2. Pingback: The Simple Things Make You Happy… | Fluffrick

  3. Pingback: Fluffrick’s Half-Year Hitters | Fluffrick

Leave a Reply

