A Music Addict Writes…

A pox on Amazon and the cheap CD sellers who reside therein – a pox, I tells ye!

In  the first couple of weeks of the month, your humble blogger has found himself purchasing these fine examples of metallic riffery…

The first RoF album that I bought this month…

…and the second.

Inspired by watching last year’s doc about his life, “God Bless Ozzy Osbourne” 

I’m seeing ‘em in September, Greece’s power metal riffsmiths, Firewind

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s a lot of stuff to wrap my ears around, let me tell you.  The Ozzy best-of, particularly, is a sizeable beast, reflecting a large swathe of his solo career, from the eighties to his “Down to Earth” album from the early noughties.  And as the caption suggests, my purchase was motivated by it being super-cheap and fresh in my mind after watching the “God Bless Ozzy Osbourne” documentary when it was televised on the UK’s BBC Four Arts channel last week.  A great film, too, if you haven’t seen it – it puts the double O in some kind of context for people who thought that they had a handle on him and for those who were only familiar with the rough edges smoothed off version depicted in “The Osbournes” reality series.

I’m also getting a head-start on Firewind’s back catalogue before going to see their gig in Sheffield in September – their album Allegiance is also on the way, and they’ve been in fairly heavy rotation on my Spotify for the last couple of weeks.

I’m sure that this isn’t the end of my musical acquisition spree this month – much to the lamentation of my delightful better half, who’s going to have to use the D.I.Y. side of her brain to figure out some storage solutions quick smart, lest we be drowned in a sea of power metal cd’s…

1 Comment

Filed under Blogs, Music

One response to “A Music Addict Writes…

  1. Some great purchases!! The Frozen Tears of Angels is one of my favorite power metal album of all time (and albums of all time). Such diversity, musicianship, catchy tunes, nerd-dom, epic scores. I love it.
    And you can never go wrong with Ozzy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

