Cultural Activities, for the week ending 31/07/2011

Welcome to another edition of Cultural Activities, in which I tell an understandably uninterested world what I will be imbibing, culturally speaking, over the next few days.

"Lavatory Love Machine". That's a thing, apparently.

As you’ll have seen, I’m jumping into the EdGuy fray with a collection of their singles, which is the strategy I normally employ when getting into a band who is new to me. I’ve found myself listening to a lot of EdGuy singer Tobias Sammet’s side project, the gloriously pompous, all-star concept outfit Avantasia and want to know what Tobias does for a day job when he’s not marshalling a cast of metal types.

Warhammer 40K compendium action - a paperback stocky enough to take down muggers with

A swift visit to comics writer and novelist Dan Abnett’s blog The Primary Clone put me in the mind to read some of his well-regarded military SF work set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe, and so I picked up what turns out to be later volumes in his ‘Gaunt’s Ghosts’ sequence. Start at the end…

Continuing this week's Metal themed-posts...

Also on my list of things to read is Joe Hill’s “Heart-Shaped Box”, which I am looking forward to quite a bit. Ageing rock star, sins of the past and paranormal weirdness impacting on the present, heroic dogs – I am all over this.

In closing, I have to break the news to you that posting may be a tad on the light side next week – for reasons which I will share with you later – so, enjoy whatever you’re doing and be excellent to each other, yes?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Gaming, Geekery

Leave a Reply

