An action RPG fan writes…

I’ll come out and say it – I like to think that I’m amongst friends here – so that there can be no secrets between us:

I like my Western-style RPG console games, but Bethesda’s huge time sink “The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim” scares the crap out of me.

I don’t regard the prospect of a 100 hour plus game as something to be cherished – I see it as that game that I bought that I’m never going to see the end of (unless I get sacked, have my legs broken or experience some other more random phenomenon which gifts me a whole mess of time on my hands to play the game in).  “Skyrim” is Everest and I’m the plucky yet still eminently disposable Sherpa who’s destined never to see its terrifying peak.

Given that game’s rampant success and universal critical acclaim, I think it’s fair to say that they won’t miss me – so I’m going to get my WRPG fix on by diving into:

Well, his hair's better than mine...

I’m really looking forward to “Deus Ex: Human Revolution”, despite a lot of forum chatter about how broken and annoying the boss fights are.

I’m pretty sure that I won’t see the end of this game before the end of the year – like many clumsy-fingered, deserted-by-talent gamers my age, I tend to play in small nibbles of time and any advance in a game is often hard-won and not without much cursing and threats of unwarranted violence towards my blameless Xbox 360 controller.

It’ll hopefully fill the gap between now and “Mass Effect 3” in March 2012 – with Starbreeze’s reboot of “Syndicate” also helping me get my black duster coat and mirror shade cosplay Jones sated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gaming, Geekery

Leave a Reply

