“Game of Thrones” theme goes Metal.

Image

Dinklage throws the horns and all is well in the world...

 

Via our dear friends at the UK’s most heavily metallic publication, Metal Hammer, comes a link to a none-more-metal cover version of the theme song to “A Game of Thrones” (AKA, that show that I know I’ll love and still haven’t watched).  If you can think of a TV show more deserving of such musical treatment, you’re a finer nerd than I (if you just said My Little Pony – Friendship is Magic, please feel free to depart the blog forthwith).

Image

Frankly, what’s not to like?  Erstwhile shredder and YouTuber ERock331 also does bad-ass covers of the themes from Doctor Who (yes, yes – thrice YES!), Back to the Future and other geek-friendly loveliness over on his YouTube channel and confirms his (newly-confirmed, by me) status as a gentleman, scholar and delightful nerd.

Respect is, quite clearly, due…

1 Comment

Filed under Geekery, Music, TV

One response to ““Game of Thrones” theme goes Metal.

  1. Nice post! And seriously, watch Game of Thrones, and better yet, read the books. That Erock guy is great, I’ve been following him for a while now. He makes the impossible possible, Lady Gaga listenable, gasp.
    I hope you don’t mind me doing a little self promotion, but I have a little A Song of Ice and Fire (aka, Game of Thrones) fanboy project I’ve been chipping away at where I’m matching up all the characters in the series up with a metal song. I’ll get em all one day (probably in 10 years, lol) but here’s what I’ve done so far. And, there be some spoilers here.
    Part 1: http://ametalstateofmind.com/2011/06/30/metal-of-ice-and-fire-pt-i/
    Part 2: http://ametalstateofmind.com/2011/09/20/metal-of-ice-and-fire-pt-2/
    Part 3: http://ametalstateofmind.com/2012/02/29/metal-of-ice-and-fire-pt-iii/

Leave a Reply

