Sure Shot

Adam Yauch (AKA MCA), born 5 August 1964, died 4 May 2012

“I Want To Say a Little Something That’s Long
Overdue
The Disrespect To Women Has Got To Be Through
To All The Mothers And Sisters And The
Wives And Friends
I Want To Offer My Love And Respect To The
End”

Sure Shot, Beastie Boys, Ill Communication

Rest in peace, Adam Yauch.  Believe me when I say that this post is hard to write.  The very idea that you’ve been taken from us by cancer is bizarre and doesn’t quite compute.

You went from snotty punk to mature musical icon and filmmaker whilst somehow managing to get cooler as you got older.  That’s quite a trick to pull off.  You were part of a band who were inclusive, innovative and celebratory enough to get even a Grinch like me to shake my ass.  The world is poorer for being robbed of your presence and I have lost an artist who (alongside Public Enemy) introduced me to hip-hop.

Go listen to “Ill Communication” today (or the Beasties cuts of your choice) and revel in how this band never stopped being awesome and always had their own identity.

1 Comment

05/05/2012 · 11:54 am

One response to “Sure Shot

  1. I still remember the first time I listened to Ill Communication all the way through. Vividly.
    It’s quite a shame.

Leave a Reply

