SongPop – or how I forgot to hate Facebook in the name of play.

Fragile sense of identity, meet your nemesis – Facebook game/mobile app/compulsion du jour, SongPop….

Here’s the thing – I don’t see the point in Facebook.  It is, perhaps, an age thing.  I don’t have hordes of friends that I have to keep up with at all hours of the day.  Being constantly appraised of my peers’ doings and disasters is not really of that much consequence to me.  I use young Master Zuckerberg‘s social network to primarily snag the odd MP3 or see a film trailer quickly.

When it comes to social networks, I’m the very definition of a cheap date.

To my point, which does exist – SongPop is a Facebook game.  Or deliciously addictive virtual candy – I can’t quite be sure.

Pick a category, guess five songs quickly, win virtual coins.  Repeat until it calls to, unbidden, like some phantom paramour from gothic fiction, at all hours of the day.

It’s a bit addictive – thank the great Flying Spaghetti Monster that I don’t have a Smartphone capable of running the SongPop app – because that would be a very bad thing indeed.

It’s things like SongPop which make me forget that Facebook is massively wrong and a terrible thing – kudos, humble game developers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gaming, Geekery

Leave a Reply

