Few Against Many

 

Gus G, casually rocking atop a picturesque Greek cliffside, in the video for Firewind‘s “Edge of a Dream”

It’s that time of year again – and I’m dragging my ageing carcass to see a band or two at Corporation in Sheffield.  Tonight, Greek Power Metal virtuosi Firewind and Norwegian/German symphonic metallists Leaves’ Eyes have my attention and I’m prepared for the evening ahead.

My ticket is on my person, my earplugs (and spare earplugs) are in my pocket and my new, iPod-replacing Sansa Clip MP3 player is ready to do podcast duty between bands (“Hollywood Babble-On”, in case you’re wondering).  Rock and/or Roll?  Oh yes, I know how to get down (carefully and with due recourse to health & safety regulations/my ever-encroaching infirmity).

Expect a report, replete with the quality music criticism you’ve come to expect (“And then they rocked a bit more – and it was ace!”) from the blog that nobody at all is describing as the spiritual heir to Lester Bangs‘ seminal body of rock writing.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Geekery, Music

Leave a comment