Besson dreams of “Lucy”

“I’m very silently judging you”

Suddenly, “Nikita” seems very far away…or does it?

The Hollywood Reporter’s “Heat Vision” blog today reported on director Luc Besson’s next actioner, “Lucy”, which has a plotline so deranged as to makes Besson’s “Taken” series look like the work of Michael Haneke.

Johansson’s character is a drug mule whose exposure to the illicit substance she’s transporting turns her into a one woman take-down machine, impervious to pain and telekinetic to boot.

If you read that log line and said to yourself, “I’d sooner eat my crusty toenails in a sandwich than watch that”, I fully sympathise – but you’re reading the blog of the man who willingly exposes himself to “Resident Evil” movies and counts the “Underworld” franchise as one of his favourite movie jams.

Don't Look Down...

Don’t Look Down…

Taste, or my lack of thereof, somewhat suggests that I’ll be turning out for this movie on opening weekend.  I’m not sure when Besson went from the enfant not especially terrible of French cinema to the guy behind goofy actioners like “The Transporter” films or my favourite of his obscurities as a producer, “Yamakasi”, but I’m not about to deny that I love many of his – shall we say – more lightweight endeavours…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Films, Geekery

Leave a Reply

