Daily Archives: 10/02/2012

Dark Passion Play?

 

Image

Yep, fellow Nightwish fans, this one’s for us.

In a rather unexpected announcement on Monday – which you can read here – the band announced that they were parting company with singer Anette Olzon, who in turn replaced much-loved original singer Tarja Turunen  in 2007.

It’s all a bit out of left field, frankly.  Anette missed a show on the band’s current US tour due to hospitalization, recuperated and then played one last show a day or two later before Monday’s announcement arrived and made me do the proverbial spit take.

Image

A paranoid side of me was convinced that the Nightwish show that Mrs Rolling Eyeballs and I are going to see in November was going to be cancelled – that hasn’t transpired, as the band have recruited former After Forever and current ReVamp vocalist Floor Jansen to complete the rest of the ‘Imaginaerum‘ tour.

I’m glad that I get to see Nightwish, and I’m sure that Floor is going to be a fantastic guest singer, but I’m sad that I don’t get to see Anette play with the band.  She may not have had Tarja’s insane vocal range, but her voice was distinctly different to a lot of the singers on the symphonic metal scene.

Witness one of my favourite Nightwish songs, “The Islander” – not your soaring, octave-busting kind of song, but certainly one of the songs that I looked forward to perhaps hearing Anette sing live.  C’est la vie – perhaps we’ll get to see her in the UK with whatever project she fronts next?

A lot of fans are eagerly speculating who Nightwish will audition to be their next lead singer – speculation which might yet run and run as I’m fairly certain that the band are taking much of 2013 off to allow keyboard player/founding member/awesome dude Tuomas Holopainen to work on a solo record.

But if they want to get somebody with amazing vocal range, Diabulus In Musica’s Zuberoa Aznárez rocks…

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Geekery, Music