A morning on the tiles – a D.I.Y. work in progress.

Our hallway, prior to the commencement of hostilities...

What do you write for a 200th post?  Do you talk about the past, muse on the future or thank people for reading?  Or do you take the blog format to its logical conclusion and tell people about what you’re doing right at this moment?

I am on holiday next week and have decided with Mrs Rolling Eyeballs to make a start on a job which we have been putting off for far too long – tiling our hallway floor, with quarry tiles leading from the kitchen and some grey ceramic tiles proceeding from the quarry tiles, along the hallway to the vestibule which leads to the front door.

Sounds quite grand but it really isn’t, to be honest.

Our splendidly dusty kitchen floor, with tiles and supplies

Don’t misunderstand me – I am not Mr D.I.Y.  Far from it – I only get involved in this kind of home improvement caper predominantly because it saves a bit of cash and there’s a curious satisfaction to be derived from planning, carrying out and living with a D.I.Y. project that you’ve seen from inception to fruition.

Pretty quarry tiles, all in a row

The current state of play as you read this is that the tiles are now applied in a row of four across the wooden floorboards – a slightly dull and nasty red carpet previously sat in situ in the hallway and succeeded primarily in making a dark and dull space that bit more dingy and gloomy than it really had to be.

One fringe benefit of this project won’t even be felt by me – when the hallway is tiled, it’s going to be the ‘go-to’ spot for our dogs to lay their heads in the hot summer weather.  I don’t think that I’ve ever met a dog who didn’t like to lie on a cool ceramic tile in the middle of July and get their canine recline on.

Where's my tiled floor? I want to make with the lying down already.

Not that Minnie’s the major client on this job.  At least, I don’t think she is…

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs, Fluffrick, Geekery

Leave a comment